Herd Mentality

Rude

Self Centered

Narcissistic

Entitled

It seems as though the world is ok with the above traits. The media is filled with people who exhibit these things and we watch them and accept them. Accept them? Tolerate?

No?

trump_flicker_face_yessSo how has Donald Trump or the Kardashians gotten as far as they have? What value have they added to our world that they deserve to gain our attention? Where are the true icons of today? As Bowie and Prince have left us, who picks up their cause for artistic greatness to inspire us.

Derek Jeter with stars from the Boston Red Sox at his last visit to Fenway Park. Even his rivals respected him.
Derek Jeter with stars from the Boston Red Sox at his last visit to Fenway Park. Even his rivals respected him.

Derek Jeter retires from a 20 year career with a storied franchise and is beloved by his peers. This is a rarity. Why? It shouldn’t be. Being the opposite of the traits listed above shouldn’t be the exception, it should be the norm. If we accept the Trumps and Kardashians, we validate them. I don’t accept them.

I refuse to be a sheep; part of the herd. I am not an anarchist or rebel, I am an INDIVIDUAL. We should all strive to be an individual.

Neitzche said “Morality is the herd-instinct in the individual.” I think about this every day. Not so much as it relates to hold people back, but rather allowing the majority, the herd, the sheep to act like animals. I trust in myself that my interaction in the world does no harm to others. I like to believe that I live and choose for myself and ask only that the world accept my opinion as mine. I don’t claim to be right or demand others change their mind.

Sheep in a herd form a blank space, don’t be part of the blank space.

I know Frederick Nietszche rubs a lot of people the wrong way with his views on religion and God, but I also think he has some valid points.

Leave a comment